done Join person Login
Menu
Sprint Retrospective Meeting – Ретроспектива в Scrum

Sprint Retrospective Meeting – Ретроспектива в Scrum


Sprint Retrospective Meetings, as well as Sprint Reviews Meetings are held in the last day of a Sprint. But, the aim of a Sprint Reviews Meeting is bit different. While Sprint Review Meetings are used to take a look at the final product, Sprint Retrospective Meetings are held in order to analyze the results of the teamwork.

No matter how good a Scrum Team works, there is always a room for improvement. An experienced Scrum Team always keeps an eye for an opportunities to improve. That’s why Scrum has alloted a special time period, during which a Team can stop and think about their work and possible improvement.

Sprint Retrospective Meeting – is a useful event, so it shouldn’t be neglected. For example, imagine a process of changing oil in a car. An approximate interval for oil change is about 15 000 kilometers Otherwise, there is a possibility of loss of engine performance or even failure. Scrum Team also needs some kind of "oil change", in order to maintain the effectiveness of working process.

Most Scrum Teams hold Sprint Retrospective Meeting as soon as Sprint Review Meeting is over. The whole Development Team, as well as the Scrum Master and the Product Owner take part in it. But it should be mentioned, that a Product Owner’s presence is not always necessary. Sprint Retrospective Meetings don’t have strict time-limits, but there is an optimal formula: the duration of a Sprint Retrospective Meeting equals 45 minutes multiplied by the number of weeks in the finished Sprint. If you’ve had a 4-week Sprint, then your Sprint Retrospective Meeting should last 45 * 4 = 180 minutes (or 3 hours). Though, not every Team sticks to this formula and the meeting usually lasts for an hour, extended if necessary.

There are plenty of ways to hold such meetings and each company use several types of them. Several books have been written on this topic: Agile Retrospectives: Making Good Teams Great and Project Retrospectives: A Handbook for Team Reviews.

Sprint Retrospective Meeting - one way

The most widely-spread and easy (but still effective) way to hold this meeting is Start-Stop-Continue method.

This method demands that each team-member should define a list of things his or her team should start doing, continue doing and which ones are unnecessary. So, a team-member divides his list of things into three groups:

  • What to begin doing;
  • What to stop doing;
  • What to continue doing.

Afterwards, a Scrum Master collects the results, which he can do in various ways: he can suggests the members shouting their ideas out loud, or he can walk around the table and ask each person individually.

After this brainstorming a voting takes place, concerning the question that will be raised upon after the next Sprint. The remaining question will be discussed on the next Retrospective Meeting.

An example of a Sprint Retrospective Meeting during the online-store development.

After finishing the Sprint and holding the Sprint Reviews Meetings, the Team gathers in order to discuss the effectiveness of their work, evaluated by each one individually.

The Scrum Master asks each person individually in order to get answers.

Team-member #1:

  1. I think, that the team should start using more thorough testing lists
  2. ----
  3. I think, that the team should continue using the current Product Backlog, it is an optimal variant.

Team-member #2

  1. -----
  2. I think, the team should stop using the current development environment. It’s very sluggish and it slows our progress.
  3. The team should definitely continue using the current system of version control and cloud saving. We worry less about the losses and concentrate on the work more.

As we may see, one can express his ideas concerning improvements in a variety of ways, because there are plenty of common points with the working process.

Scrum Master creates the wish-list and the voting takes place. First of all, the team decides which improvements should be implemented in the first place and which ones should be left for the next Sprint.

Sprint Review Meeting

Sprint Review Meeting

Ending of each Sprint is marked with a significant gain of the product’s functionality. Moreover, it means that the code is complete, tested and a part or the whole product is ready.

Scrum Team

Scrum Team

Scrum Team – is a collective image of a Team, which consists of a Development Team, a Scrum Master and a Product Owner. The Team is self-sufficient and doesn’t depend on any kind of outsource specialists or clients.

Development Team

Development Team

We tend to think that a 'work unit' means a single person, if we talk about human resources. But in Scrum it is a bit different: it is the Development Team which is a work unit.

Scrum Master

Scrum Master

Let’s try understand once and for all what does the notion Scrum Master mean and what are the duties of a Scrum Master. Jeff Southerland, one of the developers of Scrum, has managed to change the common idea of a team manager.

Product Owner

Product Owner

A Product Owner is a link between the Client and the development Team. He has the authority to make final decisions withing a Scrum Team. The main responsibilities of a Product Owner are the creation and the control of the Product Backlog

Scrum Sprint

Scrum Sprint

The most important element of Scrum is probable Sprint. Everything revolves around it, because the products are created during Sprints. A Sprint usually lasts for 30 days (1 month), but sometimes it is set for 2 weeks.

Project Manegement
Project Manegement
new_releasesTry it for free!
Time of Scrum Time
Start for Free
keyboard_arrow_up

done Регистрация person Вход
Меню
Sprint Retrospective Meeting – Ретроспектива в Scrum

Sprint Retrospective Meeting – Ретроспектива в Scrum


Sprint Retrospective Meeting, наравне с Sprint Reviews Meeting, проводится в последний день Спринта. Задачи в отличие от Sprint Reviews Meeting ставятся совершенно иные. Если обзорная встреча имеет цель посмотреть на результат продукта, то ретроспектива призвана посмотреть на результат команды.

Не зависимо от того, на сколько хорошо работает Scrum Team, всегда есть возможность улучшить показатели. Хорошая Scrum команда всегда ищет возможности своего улучшения и для этого в методологии Scrum выделили специальное время, позволяющее остановиться и задуматься о том, как команда работает, что можно улучшить и как.

Ретроспектива Scrum - очень полезное мероприятие и не стоит к нему относится посредственно. В качестве примера, можно привести автомобиль и замену его масла. Грубым интервалом замены масла считается порядка 15 000 км., то есть через каждое это число километров необходимо слить старое масло и залить новое, иначе качество работы двигателя может ухудшаться или более того, это может привести к серьезной поломке и выходу из строя. Scrum Team также нуждается в подобной замене «масла», чтобы работа всегда была в наивысшей степени эффективной.

Большинство Scrum Team переходят к ретроспективе (Sprint Retrospective Meeting) сразу после обзора (Sprint Review Meeting). Вся команда Development Team, а также Scrum Master и Product Owner участвуют в этом процессе. Хотя стоит отметить, что участие Product Owner не во всех видах Sprint Retrospective Meeting необходимо. У ретроспективы нет очень сильных временных ограничений, но есть формула золотой середины: длина Sprint Retrospective Meeting равна 75% часа (45 минут) умножить на количество недель в Sprint. Если у вас четырехнедельный Спринт, то время на ретроспективу в Scrum следует выделить равной 60 * 0.75 * 4 = 180 минут. То есть на ретроспективу следует потратить 180 минут, что равняется трем часам. Иногда право некоторые команды не придерживаются этой формулы и использует просто час для такого анализа, а если происходят горячие споры, то время расширяется.

На самом деле способов проводить подобные встречи достаточно много и даже внутри организации проведения мероприятий нет пределу совершенства. По этому поводу даже написаны целые книги, например Agile Retrospectives: Making Good Teams Great и Project Retrospectives: A Handbook for Team Reviews.

Sprint Retrospective Meeting - способ

Самым распространенным и простым способом (что не отменяет его эффективность), является способ Start-Stop-Continue.

При этом способе каждого члена команды просят определить, какие конкретные вещи должна делать команда, а какие нет, а какие продолжить. Он распределяет свои ответы по трем возможным вариантам:

  • Начать делать;
  • Прекратить делать;
  • Продолжить делать.

Опять, здесь же, есть варианты исполнения. На самом деле, для ведения более эффективных встреч и нужен Scrum Master, который к примеру, может попросить команду выкрикнуть идеи во время схватки. Scrum Master может так и не делать, а вообще пойти по кругу и спросить каждого участника назвать одну любую вещь на выбор, которую команда должна начать делать, или прекратить, или продолжить.

После мозгового штурма Sprint Retrospective Meeting, может начаться голосование по конкретным вопросам, которые будут учитываться в следующем спринте. В следующей ретроспективе будут рассматриваться оставшиеся пункты из прошлой встречи.

Пример Sprint Retrospective Meeting в разработке интернет-магазина

Созданный нами пример разработки интернет-магазина, кочующий из статьи в статью, не прошел и мимо текущей.

После завершение Sprint и Проведения Sprint Reviews Meeting, команда Scrum собралась для обсуждения эффективности её работы, которая была оценена каждым самостоятельно.

Scrum Master решает задать вопрос каждому лично и узнать ответы на все три вопроса.

Участник №1:

  1. Я считаю, что команде следует начать использовать более развернутые листы тестирования
  2. ----
  3. Я считаю, что команда должна продолжить использовать текущий вид Product Backlog, он оптимально удобен

Участник №2

  1. -----
  2. Мне кажется, команде надо прекратить использовать оценку данную среду разработки, её «неповоротливость» замедляет работу.
  3. Команде однозначно следует продолжить использовать текущую систему контроля версий и облачных сохранений, с ней мы менее беспокоимся о потерях и более концентрируемся на работе.

Как видно, высказывать идеи по улучшению можно совершенно разрознено, ведь этих точек соприкосновений с рабочим процессом может быть огромное множество.

Scrum Master составляет список всех пожеланий и затем устраивает голосование. Во время голосования команда решает, что из предложенного надо внести в очередь улучшений в первую очередь и исправить в следующем спринте, а что оставить на потом.

Sprint Review Meeting

Sprint Review Meeting

Наравне с Sprint Retrospective Meeting существует и Sprint Review Meeting, на котором происходит демонстрация работы продукта, разработанного за текущий спринт. В отличие от Sprint Retrospective Meeting, данная встреча нацелена на сам продукт, а не на команду.

Scrum Team

Scrum Team

Вся Scrum Team - как объединение Scrum Master, Product Owner и Development Team улучшает себя постоянно. Sprint Retrospective Meeting является одним из важных мероприятий по улучшению.

Development Team

Development Team

Команда разработки одна из самых основных модернизирующихся элементов Scrum Team. Решения выносимые на Sprint Retrospective Meeting исходят именно от команды и она решает как лучше устроить работу в будущем.

Scrum Master

Scrum Master

Важнейшая роль по ведению команды и её совершенствованию. Команда в свою очередь решает как ей себя улучшить, а Scrum Master это исполняет и создает все условия для выявления проблем. Scrum Master играет важнейшую роль в мероприятии Sprint Retrospective Meeting.

Product Owner

Product Owner

Создание Product Backlog - главная задача Product Owner. Эффективность работы команды напрямую зависит от правильного составления бэклога. Ясность задач и их правильное расположение приводят к лучшим показателям команды, которые рассматриваются на Sprint Retrospective Meeting.

Scrum Sprint

Scrum Sprint

Весь процесс разработки делится на специальные итерации - спринты. Во время спринта и происходит вся жизнь команды и весь смысл методологии. Логическим завершением Sprint является готовый продукт, который и демонстрируется на Sprint Retrospective Meeting.

Project Manegement
Project Manegement
new_releasesПопробуй на практике
close
Управление проектами по Scrum
Система управления проектами по методологии Scrum

Начните - Это бесплатно
Время Scrum Time
Начать бесплатно
keyboard_arrow_up