done Join person Login
Menu
Abnormal Termination

Abnormal Termination


No matter how skilled and well-developed a Scrum Team is, it can also recourse to a certain action called Abnormal Termination. As we can guess from its name, this is not a normal action, but Scrum developers couldn’t but include in the system and optimize it.

Anyone who deals with any kind of software development knows that it is especially difficult to work with code and logics of other people. Whenever a Scrum team has to upgrade certain processes of a website, the technicians evaluate the difficulty of a task according to what has been already done before. After a number of meetings and a Planning Poker session, a Backlog is created and it becomes cleared how much time is needed to complete it. After the Sprint has started it turns out, that the inner structure of a website is built in a way which prevents the Team from applying the planned changes without modifying the code heavily. It becomes necessary to evaluate the number of required changes and time limits. Analysis itself also takes time and as a result, the Burndown chart starts looking unattractively. If a Team realizes that it possible to modify the code within the original time limit, they add the tasks to the Backlog and continue the work. Otherwise, they push the Stop button, performing the Abnormal Termination process.

Who is responsible for the Abnormal Termination?

The answer is not as simple as it seems, so there are number of opinions on this. Some think the Product Owner is responsible, but others tend to think that it is the Scrum Master.

Generally, it is the Scrum Master, who supervises the work of a Development Team and he decides if there are any problems or not. Let’s imagine that a Scrum Master decides to stop a Sprint, because the difficulties have built up. He stops the Sprint and, according to the rules, begins planning a new one. As we know, the Product Owner takes place during the planning process and when asked “What should we do during the new Sprint”, he replies “The same you’ve been doing 10 minutes ago, before the Sprint has been stopped”. A Product Owner, as a sort of a final authority, worries mainly about the product and its quality. He doesn’t pay much attention to the Team. So in this situation, it would have been better if the Product Owner himself decided to perform the Abnormal Termination: no questions, concerning the next Sprint would have been raised and the Product Owner himself would have paid attention to the necessity of changing the development course, as he would have been aware that the current course leads to a dead end. The Product Owner stops the Sprint if the assigned goals have disappeared.

But to tell the truth, in reality it is hardly possible that a Scrum Team would dispute the decision to perform the Abnormal Termination, because everyone is interested in succeeding.

It should be mentioned that very often it is the Development Team itself, which decides to stop the Sprint, because no one else can understand the current status better.

Anyway, the meeting is held after the Sprint is stopped, during which the causes for the Abnormal Termination are discussed.

Scrum Team

Scrum Team

Scrum Team – is a collective image of a Team, which consists of a Development Team, a Scrum Master and a Product Owner. The Team is self-sufficient and doesn’t depend on any kind of outsource specialists or clients.

Planning Poker

Planning Poker

Planning Poker or Scrum Poker is one of the most important events in Scrum or any other agile development technology. Almost always the team faces the following question: How do we evaluate this task?

Product Backlog

Product Backlog

A Product Backlog should be clear for everyone (and that is the Product Owner’s responsibility) It should be so clear that both the Team and the Owner could work with it without any problems.

Scrum Sprint

Scrum Sprint

The most important element of Scrum is probable Sprint. Everything revolves around it, because the products are created during Sprints. A Sprint usually lasts for 30 days (1 month), but sometimes it is set for 2 weeks.

Burndown Chart

Burndown Chart

Burndown Chart is such a graph. It is one of the main tools used to track the completed tasks in a Sprint or in the whole project.

Product Owner

Product Owner

A Product Owner is a link between the Client and the development Team. He has the authority to make final decisions withing a Scrum Team. The main responsibilities of a Product Owner are the creation and the control of the Product Backlog

Scrum Master

Scrum Master

Let’s try understand once and for all what does the notion Scrum Master mean and what are the duties of a Scrum Master. Jeff Southerland, one of the developers of Scrum, has managed to change the common idea of a team manager.

Development Team

Development Team

We tend to think that a 'work unit' means a single person, if we talk about human resources. But in Scrum it is a bit different: it is the Development Team which is a work unit.

Project Manegement
Project Manegement
new_releasesTry it for free!
Time of Scrum Time
Start for Free
keyboard_arrow_up

done Регистрация person Вход
Меню
Abnormal Termination / Остановка спринта

Abnormal Termination / Остановка спринта


Какой бы профессиональной и развивающейся командой не была Scrum Team, она также может прибегнуть к действию под названием Abnormal Termination или по-русски Остановка спринта. Как видно из английского названия – это действие совершенно аномальное, но не предусмотреть его и не оптимизировать было бы не в духе методологии Scrum.

Те, кто занимается разработкой программного обеспечения в любой области, знает, что разбирать чужой код и чужую логику работы всегда тяжело. Если к Scrum команде поступает задача на усовершенствование каких-либо процессов в работе web-сайта, то технические специалисты оценивают уровень временных затрат относительно того, что уже сделано, а не изготовления с нуля. После проведения Planning Poker и митингов, становится понятно, какой имеется Backlog и сколько на него нужно времени. После запуска Sprint начинается работа, которая длится уже какое-то время и выясняется, что в самых глубинах ядра текущего веб-сайта всё сделано так, что невозможно реализовать намеченные улучшения, не прибегнув к сильным изменениям кода. Встает острая необходимость оценить количество необходимых изменений и их временные рамки. На сам анализ также уходит ценное время, и наша Диаграмма сгорания задач начинает принимать непривлекательный вид. Если команда оценивает, что всё же успеет в заявленный срок переправить весь код, то она добавляет задачи в Backlog и продолжает работу, если же нет, то необходимо нажать кнопку Стоп, то есть совершить Abnormal Termination / Остановку спринта.

Кто должен принимать решение на счет Abnormal Termination / Остановка спринта

Вопрос этот не такой простой как кажется, и великие умы вселенной Scrum считают по-разному. Кто-то точно скажет, что это должен быть Product Owner, а кто-то скажет, что Scrum Master.

В целом, как мы знаем, за работой Development Team следит никто иной как Scrum Master, и он в первую очередь решает, есть ли проблемы в работе команды или нет. Давайте представим, что Scrum Master решает совершить остановку спринта, так как проблемы команды выросли на столько, что ни к чему хорошему это не приведет. Scrum Master останавливает спринт, и по всем правилам начинается планирование нового спринта. Как известно, в планировании участвует Product Owner и на вопрос, что нам делать в новом спринте? Product Owner ответит «То, что вы делали 10 минут назад, до того как Scrum Master прервал спринт». Для Product Owner, как для конечной инстанции, нет дела до работы команды, ему есть дело до продукта и его качества. В данной ситуации решение об Abnormal Termination логичней было бы исполнить Product Owner, тогда не было бы вопросов об дальнейших действиях, и Product Owner пришлось бы пересматривать ход разработки, так как он был бы в курсе того, что данный путь ведет в тупик. Product Owner так и так производит остановку Sprint если назначенная цель исчезла.

Однако всё это перечеркивает тот факт, что в реальных Scrum командах, наверное, и не бывает таких ситуаций, при которых кто-то решит оспаривать решение об Abnormal Termination, ведь успех то нужен всем.

Стоит отметить, что также часто решение об остановки спринта принимает сама Development team, ведь она как никто понимает сложившуюся ситуацию.

Так или иначе, после остановки происходит митинг, на котором обсуждаются причины возникновения Abnormal Termination.

Scrum Team

Scrum Team

Главный действующий единый организм, который всеми силами пытается не допустить появления такой неприятной ситуации как Остановка спринта / Abnormal Termination и выполняющий всю работу.

Planning Poker

Planning Poker

Четкая оценка предстоящих задач и их планирование - одни из основных критериев помогающих в недопущении появлении ситуации под названием Abnormal Termination / Остановка спринта.

Product Backlog

Product Backlog

Основной список всех задач, в котором собрано всё, что предстоит сделать команде на протяжении нескольких спринтов. Из него задачи переносятся в Sprint Backlog.

Scrum Sprint

Scrum Sprint

Пожалуй основной процесс в методологии Scrum, остановка которого и может произойти. Во время Sprint происходит вся работа Development Team, Scrum Master и Product Owner.

Диаграмма сгорания задач

Диаграмма сгорания задач

Диаграмма сгорания задач - как никак иное помогает оценивать процесс работы и предотвратить остановку спринта / Abnormal Termination. Надежный контроль работы всей команды.

Product Owner

Product Owner

Владельцу продукта надо знать как работает команда и что её предлагать в первую очередь на реализацию. Правильные действия Product Owner способствуют не возникновению остановки спринта.

Scrum Master

Scrum Master

Главный помощник для Development Team. Исправляет все возникающие проблемы, следит за эффективностью и улучшает её постоянно. Scrum Master один из самых важных персон в методологии Scrum.

Development Team

Development Team

Двигатель Scrum Team. Команда разработчиков работает как слаженная футбольная или любая другая команда. На их поле игры (битвы) - им никогда никто не мешает, а лишь помогает. Основной их помощник - Scrum Master.

Project Manegement
Project Manegement
new_releasesПопробуй на практике
close
Управление проектами по Scrum
Система управления проектами по методологии Scrum

Начните - Это бесплатно
Время Scrum Time
Начать бесплатно
keyboard_arrow_up