done Join person Login
Menu
Sprint Planning Meeting

Sprint Planning Meeting


One of the most important events in Scrum – is the Sprint Planning Meeting. A Product Owner, a Scrum Master and the Development team take part in it. Sometimes Shareholders also participate in it, but not very often.

The Product Owner describes the top-priority tasks of the Team during Sprint Planning Meeting. The Team ask a number of question in order to have a better understanding of the tasks and evaluate them prior to the Sprint.

The Product Owner mustn’t describe each element of the Product Backlog. It’s better to talk about the task that are going to be allocated between the two Sprints. For instance, if the Team is include 5 tasks in the current Sprint, then the Product Owner should talk about top-10 tasks from the whole Backlog.

Two artifacts of Sprint Planning Meeting:

  • Sprint Goal;
  • Sprint Backlog.
Sprint Goal Sprint Planning Meeting

Sprint Goal – is a sentence or two, which describe what the Team is aiming to achieve during the current Sprint. The Product Owner describes the Sprint Goal together with the team.

Duration of a Sprint Planning Meeting

Scrum time is agile in every aspect, including the duration of a Sprint Planning Meeting. This duration depends on the duration of the next Sprint. It is calculated according to the following formula: 1-week Sprint = 2-hour Sprint Planning Meeting. A 2-week Sprint should be preceded with a 4-hour Sprint Planning Meeting, respectively.

Meeting format

The meeting is divided into two parts.

the first part Sprint Planning Meeting

During the first part the Product Owner reviews the most important elements of the Product Backlog. The ones that need to be introduced and discussed. The Product Owner describes his vision. The discussion takes place, during which the tasks get clear shape and any ambiguity is excluded.

The Sprint Goal is created at the end of the first part of the meeting.

the second part Sprint Planning Meeting

During the second part the Team creates the Sprint Backlog, evaluating the time necessary for each task. The Product Owner mustn’t interfere in this process. He should be nearby should the Team need him, but he mustn’t be present at the conference room. Sometimes he is present, but in this case the Scrum Master should be responsible for creating a calm atmosphere for the teamwork. A Product Owner not always understands all the details of this or that process and as a result he can panic.

Example

Let’s take a development of an Internet-store as an example.

What is needed: to implement all the main functions of a shopping cart, including adding, removing, modifying.

Other functions: payment feature, shipment tracking, adding gift wrapping

The global aim of any Sprint is to create a sort of a reference point for the “outer participants”. Almost always there are certain people, which need to know about the working progress of a Scrum Team, but which are not allowed to interfere with it in any way. Sprint Goal serves as a perfect measure point: was the aims reached, which elements are finished and which are not.

The second artifact is the Sprint Backlog, which is basically a todo-list used during a Sprint.

It is important for the Team to estimate the amount of work they will be able to complete. It is prohibited to describe the tasks like this: it will take 4 Sprints to finish the job, so the Team should complete 25% of overall tasks during the first Sprint.

Product Owner

Product Owner

Sprint

Sprint

Product Backlog

Product Backlog

Scrum Team

Scrum Team
Project Manegement
Project Manegement
new_releasesTry it for free!
Time of Scrum Time
Start for Free
keyboard_arrow_up

done Регистрация person Вход
Меню

Sprint Planning Meeting


Одно из самых важнейших мероприятий в методологии Scrum – это конечно же Sprint Planning Meeting. В данном мероприятии принимают участие владелец продукта, Scrum Master и вся команда разработки. Иногда происходит и участие внешних заинтересованных сторон, однако это бывает редко.

Во время Sprint Planning Meeting Product Owner описывает наиболее приоритетные задачи команды. Команда в это время задает достаточное количество вопросов, чтобы более точно оценить и распределить задачи, которые будут решаться во время Sprint.

Владелец продукта не должен описывать каждый элемент Product Backlog. Для Product Owner хорошим ориентиром будет приход на Sprint Planning Meeting и разговор о задачах, которые в сумме будут распределены на два спринта. Если скажем команда будет брать 5 задач на текущий Sprint, то разговор будет о топ-10 задачах из всего Backlog.

Два артефакта получаемые на Sprint Planning Meeting:

  • Sprint Goal;
  • Sprint Backlog.
Цель спринта в Sprint Planning Meeting

Цель спринта – это сформулированные одно или два предложения, которые описывают то, что команда планирует достичь во время Sprint. Sprint Goal описывается командой и владельцем продукта (совместно).

Длительность Sprint Planning Meeting

Гибкость методологии Scrum проявлена везде, в том числе и в длительности Sprint Planning Meeting. Эта самая длительность зависит от длительности будущего спринта. Формула тут следующая – 1 неделя Sprint = 2 часа Sprint Planning Meeting. То есть при спринте длительностью в 2 недели, Sprint Planning Meeting должен быть 4 часа.

Формат проведения встречи

Встреча условно делится на две части.

Первая часть в Sprint Planning Meeting

В первой части Product Owner проводит обзор элементов из Product Backlog, которые необходимо представить и обсудить на данной встречи. Владелец продукта описывает что он хочет видеть. Именно тут задаются вопросы и обсуждаются задачи в можно сказать хаотичном порядке, так как обсудив одну задачу, позже может на ум всплыть еще какой-то уточняющий вопрос. По сути целью таких уточнений является убирание любой двусмысленности.

В конце первой части формируется та самая Цель спринта / Sprint Goal.

Список в Sprint Planning Meeting

Во второй части команда уже формирует Sprint Backlog, задачи которого оцениваются в часах. На данном этапе вмешательство Product Owner недопустимо. На самом деле Владелец продукта должен находиться в зоне досягаемости и команда может его привлечь, но он не должен находиться в комнате где идет обсуждение. Иногда правда бывают случаи, когда он присутствует, но тогда Scrum Master должен взять на себя ответственность за создание спокойной атмосферы для работы команды. Product Owner не всегда может понимать какие то глубокие процессы и во время обсуждения где команда решает сделать так или не так, Владелец продукта может развивать панику.

Пример

В качестве примера покажем как всегда задачи создания интернет-магазина.

Необходимо: реализовать основные функциональные возможности корзины покупок, включая добавление, удаление и изменение.

Разработка процесса контроля: оплатить заказ, забрать груз, заказ подарочной упаковки и т.д.

Вообще цель спринта служит некоторой точкой отчетности для «внешних участников». Практически в любом проекте присутствуют заинтересованные лица, желающие знать, как работает команда, но которым нет необходимости (да и не разрешено) лезть в глубину работы команды и оценивать каждую задачу, и тот или иной шаг, совершаемый Scrum Team. Sprint Goal здесь как нельзя лучше подходит в качестве такого «мерило». Всё ведь очень просто, достигнута цель или нет, а не какие элементы были сделаны или не сделаны.

Вторым артефактом является бэклог спринта, который уже является рабочим списком для реализации в спринте.

Важно то, что команда должна всё же решить, сколько работы она сможет выполнить. Недопустимо постановка задач таким образом: работы на 4 спринта, так что в первый спринт команда должна выполнить 25% от всех задач.

Product Owner

Product Owner

Sprint

Sprint

Product Backlog

Product Backlog

Scrum Team

Scrum Team
new_releasesПопробуй на практике
close

Система управления проектами по методологии Scrum

Начните - Это бесплатно
Время Scrum Time
Начать бесплатно
keyboard_arrow_up