Scrum-time.com
Story Points

Story Points


Story Points represent one of the most important sides of Scrum. They are deeply integrated in Scrum along with Planning Poker technology.

Scrum Story пример

The most common problem Scrum Teams stumble upon is the inability to evaluate the difficulty of a task and time cost correctly. The graph from the article about the Burndown Chart clearly shows what will happen if the work the Team has accepted had been evaluated incorrectly.

It is often difficult to learn to evaluate it properly. What is needed is either a vast experience or an inventive approach. In order to implement Story Points in teamwork as fast as possible, it is necessary to perform a deep analysis of the tasks from the previous projects. The names of the tasks and their duration should be analyzed. And all that is left is as easy as a pie: one should arrange these tasks according to their duration, from shortest to the longest, then divide them into separate groups and evaluate them using the Scrum Poker cards.

Sooner or later such an approach will turn you into an effective and progressive Team, which is the only right way to go. Such a Team will always boost its Velocity and please their clients with awesome.

How do Story Points actually work?

Velocity Scrum for Story Points

If a Scrum Team is able to evaluate its work correctly, if it doesn’t forget the Velocity chart, if it tracks the Burndown Chart, sooner or later the Team will start to use Story Point for evaluation. According to the Velocity graph, for example, we see that the dynamics of the Team goes up each Sprint and the average value for the last two iteration equals 23-30 Story Points. These indicators tell the Product Owner where he can put the available points in order to fill in the Backlog.

A proper evaluation and the usage of Story Points make wonders, as they tie everything together: a Development Team realizes its real potential, a Scrum Master sees if his Team has any problems and what can be improved and a Product Owner gets to know which tasks he should include in the next Sprint.

Planning Poker

Planning Poker

Planning Poker or Scrum Poker is one of the most important events in Scrum or any other agile development technology. Almost always the team faces the following question: How do we evaluate this task?

Velocity

Velocity

While car is moving, its speed can be seen on the speedometer. But in other aspects of our life there is no speedometer and it’s sometimes hard to estimate the speed of something. If we imagine, that a speedometer is not working, the speed of the car can be calculated postfactum

Development Team

Development Team

We tend to think that a 'work unit' means a single person, if we talk about human resources. But in Scrum it is a bit different: it is the Development Team which is a work unit.

Scrum Master

Scrum Master

Let’s try understand once and for all what does the notion Scrum Master mean and what are the duties of a Scrum Master. Jeff Southerland, one of the developers of Scrum, has managed to change the common idea of a team manager. His philosophy reflects the inner meaning of a relationship both in work groups and in society in the most accurate way.

Product Owner

Product Owner

A Product Owner is a link between the Client and the development Team. He has the authority to make final decisions withing a Scrum Team. The main responsibilities of a Product Owner are the creation and the control of the Product Backlog

Product Backlog

Product Backlog

A Product Backlog should be clear for everyone (and that is the Product Owner’s responsibility) It should be so clear that both the Team and the Owner could work with it without any problems.

Scrum Sprint

Scrum Sprint

The most important element of Scrum is probable Sprint. Everything revolves around it, because the products are created during Sprints. A Sprint usually lasts for 30 days (1 month), but sometimes it is set for 2 weeks. There are several opinions on this: some think it’s much harder to organize and prepare for a Sprint that lasts a month


Project Manegement
Project Manegement

Time of Scrum Time

keyboard_arrow_up

Scrum-time.com
Story Points

Story Points


Одна из самых важных сторон методологии Scrum – так называемые Story Points. Эта сторона очень плотно интегрирована в Scrum совместно с технологией Planning Poker.

Scrum Story пример

Самая частая проблема в работе Scrum Team – это неумение правильно оценивать сложность работы и временные затраты на её выполнение. Из статьи про Burndown Chart можно увидеть, как будет строится график сгорания, если неправильно оценить ту работу, за которую берется команда.

Для многих действительно тяжело выработать правильную шкалу оценок и здесь нужен опыт или хитрый подход. Для максимально эффективного и быстрого внедрения Story Points в жизнь команды нужно взять уже отработанные задачи с прошлых проектов и провести их полный анализ. В данный анализ должны входить названия задач, которые выполнялись и их продолжительность. Дальше всё проще простого, необходимо расположить эти задачи в порядке возрастания, отсортировав по времени. Разделить на группы с одинаковыми показателями или близкими и проставить оценки из вашей колоды карт Scrum Poker.

Рано или поздно, использование такого подхода сделает из вас классную и прогрессирующую команду, что и есть единственно верное направление. Постоянно модернизирующаяся команда, всегда будет разгонять свой Velocity и радовать своих заказчиков успехами.

Что же происходит на самом деле при Story Points?

Velocity Scrum for Story Points

Когда Scrum Team способна оценивать свою работу, ведет график Velocity, следит за Диаграммой сгорания задач, рано или поздно (или с самого начала работы) абсолютно все оценки будут вестись в Story Points.

Например, по графику Velocity можно увидеть, что динамика команды по среднему разгону за каждый Sprint идет вверх и среднее значения за последние две итерации составили 23-30 Story Points (зависит от выбранной системы оценок). Глядя на эти показатели Product Owner может видеть, на какие задачи потратить доступные очки, чтобы заполнить Backlog.

Правильная оценка и использование Story Points делает действительно чудеса, ведь она связывает между собой работу всей команды: Development Team ощущает на что она способна, Scrum Master видит есть ли проблемы у команды и что можно еще улучшить, а у Product Owner не возникает вопросов сколько и какие задачи вкладывать в Backlog на текущий Sprint.

Planning Poker

Planning Poker

Главный и интересный способ определения сколько Story Points нужно на одну задачу - это использование Planning Poker. Гибкая и игровая форма в полной мере дает понять что из Product Backlog можно включить в Sprint Backlog.

Velocity

Velocity

Оценка Story Points, а точнее их количество, в глобальном масштабе происходит с помощью Velocity. Та скорость, которую развивает команда по формуле расчитывается в данном графике.

Development Team

Development Team

Именно команда разработки решает сколько нужно взять в работу задач исходя из количества Story Points выполняемых за спринт. Указывать как работать команде не может никто, однако помогать работе должны все. Такой подход дает маскимальный эффект.

Scrum Master

Scrum Master

Обеспечить бесперебойную и успешную работу команды - это основное чем занимается Scrum Master. Благодаря Scrum Master количество исполненных за спринт Stroy Points может возрастать, что увеличит показатели Velocity.

Product Owner

Product Owner

Владельцу продукту / Product Owner важно знать на что способная команда по Story Points. От этого зависит как лучше распределить задачи, чтобы потом необходимые вошли в Sprint Backlog и не вышли за пределы Story Points.

Product Backlog

Product Backlog

Product Owner в Product Backlog располагает задачи в порядке важности и распределяет релизы. Чтобы составить грамотный Product Backlog - необходимо правильно распределить эти самые задачи и релизы, а это зависит от понимания Story Points.

Scrum Sprint

Scrum Sprint

Во время спринта и сгорают все заявленные Story Points. По ним рассчитываются различные диаграммы, например это может использоваться в Диаграмме сгорания задач. Успешность Sprint зависит от правильной оценки Story Points.


Project Manegement
Project Manegement
close
Управление проектами по Scrum
Система управления проектами по методологии Scrum

Начните - Это бесплатно

Время Scrum Time

keyboard_arrow_up